I haven’t posted anything lately because I’ve been busy, but I thought that I would take a moment to do a couple of mini-posts right before finals. These posts show projects that I’ve been working on in my spare time and things that I am particularly looking forward to this summer. 

First up! Pictures from the “Identity Project” that I launched late last year.

2015 marks my last year in college – at SF State. But it also marks the start of trying to figure out what I want to do after I graduate in the Spring. I’ve been in college for such a long time now, that I now have so many things to consider: what I want to do after, where i want to go, where i want to be, etc. It’s a big year.

January 25, 2015 is also my 24th birthday. I was born on January 25, 1991, in the year of the horse, but also at a pretty unique time – in the last few weeks of the year of the horse, right before Chinese New Year (aka the tail end of the horse). This is the first year that matches up perfectly.

Add to these things the fact that I’ve grown in so many different ways since I first entered college AND since I left Seattle University a year ago.

Because of all of these things, I wanted to somehow mark this year as being particularly special to me.

At the end of last year, I started rethinking how i wanted to present myself, both professionally and personally, online and in person. To kick this off, I decided to “rebrand” myself by coming up with profile pictures and icons that I could use to show who I am and what I am involved with – just like any company’s logo, their brand.

My tumblr profile icon, a seal with my Chinese name, is one result of this, as well as the calligraphy styled 光 on the top image. As my profile icon also represents a coming together of my personal and professional self, I chose to put it on my business card.

In designing my business card, I not only wanted to include things that reflect who I am and whom I identify with now, but also make a business card that I could use, no matter what company or organization I choose to join in the future. A universal business card.

Leave a Reply

